More On Amendment E

The No on E folks have a news release detailing the numerous cities, counties, and school boards that have come out against Amendement E.

Local government officials in South Dakota overwhelmingly oppose passage of Constitutional Amendment E. As of Aug. 15 official resolutions opposing Amendment E had been passed by 56 cities, 31 counties and 20 school boards and more are passing resolutions all the time. Currently, not one city council, county commission or school board has come out in favor of the amendment.

“Local government officials in South Dakota are voicing their opposition to the amendment because it endangers far more than just judges,” said No on E spokesperson Dianna Miller. “If this passes, people who serve on school boards, city councils, water boards, parole boards and many others could be sued personally if someone is upset with their decision.”

The 56 cities opposing Amendment E are Alpena, Arlington, Aurora, Big Stone City, Blunt, Bryant, Camp Crook, Canistota, Castlewood, Chancellor, Colton, Dallas, Dell Rapids, DeSmet, Estelline, Faulkton, Flandreau, Fort Pierre, Frederick, Geddes, Hartford, Hazel, Hermosa, Herrick, Howard, Huron, Java, Kennebec, Lake Norden, Lake Preston, Letcher, Marion, Martin, McLaughlin, Menno, Mitchell, Monroe, Montrose, North Sioux City, Onida, Philip, Plankinton, Platte, Raymond, Roscoe, Sisseton, St. Lawrence, Summerset, Tulare, Volga, Wall, Warner, Webster, Westport, White and Woonsocket.

Counties opposing Amendment E are Aurora, Bennett, Brown, Brule, Clark, Codington, Custer, Day, Douglas, Edmunds, Fall River, Faulk, Grant, Gregory, Hand, Hughes, Hyde, Jerauld, Lawrence, Lincoln, Lyman, Meade, Minnehaha, Perkins, Roberts, Stanley, Sully, Turner, Union, Walworth and Ziebach.

The school boards include: Avon, Edgemont, Grant-Deuel, Haakon County, Herreid, Huron, Isabel, Lead-Deadwood, Madison Central, New Underwood, Pollock, Rapid City Area, Redfield, Rosholt, Selby Area, Todd County, Warner, Waverly, White Lake and Winner.

That’s 56 cities, 31 counties and 20 school boards against Amendement E and 0 for it. I wonder how the’s will spin this news?

(h/t – South Dakota War College)

Please follow and like us: